Peach Crisp | What To Eat Wednesday

As I told you in my last Six Things Sunday post, we went peach picking. Ever since then, I’ve realized how few recipes I have for peaches. Aside from grabbing a peach and eating it raw… I wasn’t sure what else I wanted to do.

Screen Shot 2016-09-06 at 2.19.28 PM.png

We made a salad, we gave some away, we made a peach cobbler…but the real winner was the Peach Crisp.

Here are my three general guidelines for my family’s “diet”:

  1. Cook at home as much as possible.
  2. Eat real food and use real ingredients whenever possible.
  3. Eat more vegetables, fruit and meat. Less carbs, less added sugar.

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-2-17-24-pm

This recipe certainly doesn’t fit my goal to cut down on sugar, but hey, you win some, you lose some. If you wanted to make this fit your own healthy diet you could…

  1. Change the sweetener to better fit your diet. We try to reduce added sugar, but when we do, we use real sugar. You could try coconut sugar, or a mix of coconut sugar and brown sugar. If you’re concerned about calories and ok with sucralose, try Splenda and Splenda Brown Sugar Blend…or just reduce the amount of sugar, maybe add some honey instead.
  2. Use a different type of flour. Does gluten free or almond flour fit your diet better? Some crisps also call for oats which would be a great replacement!
  3. Replace the butter. Use coconut oil, olive oil or a butter substitute. Once again, you could just reduce the amount of butter.

Basically, don’t be afraid to play! This isn’t one of those overly complicated baking recipes I referenced in my Zucchini Muffin post. Make it work for your diet!

Now that all that “healthy” stuff is over and done with, here is the delicious, wonderfully simple recipe that needs no changing, unless you so choose 🙂

peach-crisp-recipe

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-2-17-40-pm

Let me know if you try this recipe! I’d love to hear how it goes.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Farrah says:

    Ah, I really wish I’d gone to pick peaches on a farm last month! Peach crisp sounds so good right now!

    1. Sarah Mears says:

      Yes! It was so nice, we usually only pick apples, but I’m a much bigger peach fan 🙂

Leave a comment